New parents may be asking themselves, what are my options for time off with my baby? In California, guidelines are already in effect that offer some paid and unpaid leave for new mothers and fathers. These temporary disability benefits are offered to employees based on several factors. Individuals who meet criteria for parental leave are offered benefits, which may be expanded under a proposed new law.
The amount of time an individual has been employed by a company, whether the worker has paid into a state disability fund and the number of hours worked per week will determine whether an employee is eligible to receive parental leave. The size of the company, as far as the number of employees, is the next big factor when it comes to calculating benefits. Employers with greater amounts of employees will provide the greatest amount of benefits to expectant families.
Employees with the greatest amount of benefits will receive up to four weeks before the birth and up to six weeks after the birth of the child, paid at 55 percent of salary, with job and insurance protected. Parental bonding leave for mothers and fathers will consist of up to 12 weeks, with six weeks paid at 55 percent of salary and continued health insurance under the employers plan. Employees of smaller companies receive slightly less benefits without job and insurance protection under current law.
The proposed new law will expand protections for individuals who work for companies with 20 to 49 employees. The California policy would be expanded to protect the job and the insurance of those employees. The state provides these disability benefits to all qualifying workers. Any person who feels that his or her employer has not offered the proper level of benefits or job protection can choose to contact an employment law attorney for a review of the current law as it applies to the worker’s circumstances.
Source: redlandsdailyfacts.com, “How do I get parental leave in California? It changes based on whether SB 63 becomes law“, Aug. 19, 2017