When it comes to child labor, the minimum age at which children may be employed under federal and California laws is set at 14 years. Employers in San Diego and other cities nationwide must ensure that work environments are free of known hazards, and they must provide adequate safety training to teach young workers how to mitigate risks that could cause workplace injuries. Such training must be provided in a language that the juvenile workers understand.
Child labor laws also control the types of jobs that workers who are younger than 18 years are allowed to undertake. Some of the restrictions involve certain types of equipment that they may only operate or use if they are older than 18. An employer in another state recently agreed to more than $58,000 in fines after the death of a 15-year-old worker.
Reportedly, investigators determined that the teenager operated a power-driven mower to clear brush along the river. Something went wrong, and the teen landed in the water and drowned. According to The Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor, children under age 16 may not operate power-driven machines, including those used for cutting weed. It was further determined that the hours the youngster worked exceeded the allowed limits.
Losing a loved one to workplace injuries at such a young age is unimaginable, and although no amount of money could reduce the trauma, obtaining insurance benefits might ease the financial burden of surviving family members. In San Diego, an attorney with experience in dealing with the California workers’ compensation system can provide invaluable support and guidance. Death benefits typically cover end-of-life costs along with a wage-replacement package.